Advice isn’t worth shit

… If you don’t listen to it.

There have been a few posts recently on people who make up some kind of excuse to not take advice from somebody else. I’m okay with that, on the surface. But it makes me want to cry deep within.

To be honest, I’ve been in pretty much the same situation. I’ve been in denial about my spec, gear and gems. I was absolutely certain that But not anymore. I’ve gone and changed as much as was needed to get my little pally as good as possible. Sure, I still have some things that are on my long todo list. But as I stand right now, I’m at least going in the right general direction. And I know that I at least have enough knowledge about Holy paladins to last me through the rest of this expansion.

So naturally, when I come across another Holy paladin (and by that, I mean “raid with”) I like to see what makes them tick. Sometimes it’s because they’re so awesome, sometimes because they’re failing horribly. Sometimes, it’s just out of curiousity. Most of the times, however, I’m shocked, horrified by what I see. I’ll go through some of my latest.. discoveries.

Fail #1

Suppose you’re applying for a guild as a Holy paladin. You would suspect that your application is reviewed by somebody who is at least knowledgeable of the spec. I was looking around on some guild sites, looking for Holy paladin applications to see how they’re judged, what they are rejected for and if they’re accepted or not. Now, I see a Holy paladin applying to one of the top guilds on my realm. I see somebody, assuming he knows what he’s doing,  asking a question in the application thread.

“Why are you specced in Divinity?”

I mean, come on! Why? Granted, this is a Holy paladin with a 51/5/15 spec applying. But it’s a pretty common talent to pick. So what do you mean, why? A straight-up 1-5% healing increase, how is that not good? There’s plenty of room for discussion on other aspects of his build. So I’m asking, why ask such a pointless question if you could’ve asked why this particular Holy paladin has specced in Ret at all? I’ve had some interesting discussions on this very topic with a few knowledgeable people and to be very honest, for a high-end raiding guild such as that, they should’ve at least asked the right questions. In my humble opinion.. FAIL.

Fail #2

The Holy paladin app who thinks he can get away applying half-prepared. This is a classic, really. I can give you an estimate, based solely on the apps that I’ve seen, that about 70% of the Holy paladin apps are not prepared to app for a high-end guild. I’m not talking about progression or gear level. I’m talking about basics. Making sure you have PvE gear, for example. Or at least have everything enchanted properly. And gemmed properly. And have a decent talent build. None of this all seems to matter to some. I could cry with shame to be honest. Faults like these are not fixable. It’s not a matter of fixing your shit after you’ve gotten feedback from the guild you’re applying to. It’s a matter of making sure that you have done everything within your power to fix your shit so that guilds will actually be happy to see you apply there. It can’t guarantee a spot, but it can guarantee that your app will be taken seriously.

A piece of advice from me: if you’re looking for feedback on how to do it right, do not apply to a high-end raiding guild.

Fail #3

Not having a clue how Holy paladins work. Allright, so you have a Holy paladin, you may have even looked up a cookie-cutter build and you know you’re supposed to gem Intellect all the way. Maybe you even know that having 2 piece T10 is a good thing.

You continue to spam Flash of Light. Which is okay, by itself. There are plenty of Holy paladins doing the same thing. Most, however, haven’t got a clue what they’re doing. Some do, they make sure to have a good talent build to go with their playing style, they try to match their gear to fulfill their very specific needs and they even gem very specifically to reach certain goals. This is what makes a good Holy paladin. Not knowing why you’re gemming Intellect or what you’re supposed to do with all that glorious mana, makes a bad Holy paladin. And I’ve seen plenty.

Keep in mind that, if you’re going to spam Flash of Light, you have entirely different needs than a standard Holy Light spamming paladin.

I’m not kidding. Read some more if you wonder why.

Fail #4

This is the reason why I started this post, actually. When I raid with another Holy paladin, I have the nasty habit of inspecting them, checking out their talent build, gems and enchants. Maybe I’ll look at the gear. Based on this information, I’ll try to figure out whether this Holy paladin is healing HL-style or FoL-style. I’ll also check if he or she has Divine Guardian or Aura Mastery. When I’m done, I should have a fairly accurate idea of his/her playstyle and available cooldowns.

Of course, it happens often enough that I come across horrible talent builds, suboptimal gems or mediocre enchants. When I do, I’ll usually wait and see how the raid goes before commenting on it. What I can’t seem to understand is, why do these people pretend to know what they’re doing? If I do decide to whisper some well-meant advice, it never seems to occur to them that they could be doing so much better so easily. Most thank me for the advice, but continue to do the exact same thing over and over. Please, for the love of the Light, if you don’t agree with advice I give, just fucking say so! I am so sick and tired of Holy paladins who fail miserably without even knowing it, ignoring my advice entirely. If you say you appreciate the advice and are going to change things, then damnit, stop slacking and do it! It’s not all that hard!

If you’ve read my previous posts, you may have noticed that I’ve switched from FoL to HL myself. This was a complete overhaul of my gear, gems and enchants. I did it in a single night, spending less than 300g in total. The most important reason for that was that I felt I wasn’t carrying my own weight in raids. Now, it’s the other way around. I feel like I’m carrying other people. At least when it comes to tank healing. I haven’t encountered a single Holy paladin that could actually keep up with me. This is not because I’m awesomesauce or something. I don’t mean to be pretentious here. But the usual Holy paladin I raid with (not all of them, though!) just fail so bad that it makes me want to cry.

On a side note: something that has surprised me is the amount of FoL healers I encounter. Most of the Holy paladins heal using FoL spam, but I’ve only seen a few HL-style Holy paladins. I would seriously like to find another HL-style Holy paladin.

If you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to distract myself with some cool new anime I’ve found.

4 Responses to Advice isn’t worth shit

  1. adgamorix says:

    With the 25% (is it 30 now?) ICC buff, most players can get away with sub-optimal gearing and such. It’s why you see ICC groups fail on Halion mini-bosses. You lose that 25% bonus to, well everything, and things become a whole lot tougher.

    • Kaboomski says:

      You’re absolutely right. That’s exactly the reason why I don’t like it if people are slacking.

      Besides, the real reason why people don’t bother to gear/gem/enchant properly is that they just don’t care anyway.

  2. Amthebesta says:

    Hey this is my first time on your blog great work I heard of you from your comment on Zabery.com I totally agree with you lol my favorite hobbie is to go to guilds i know and just check their apps it keeps me entertained and when they say things like “How do I post WOL, what is that” or they show pictures of their UI and its terrible or they click haha loved this post keep them coming

  3. repgrind says:

    I’m relatively new to this whole healing thing. My pally has been 80 for just over a month and got his 2pc bonus this week.

    I’ve been fairly lucky in that I’ve had two holy paladins as good friends who have vastly different playstyles for me to compare, so I had a chance to see how both FoL and HL builds worked in action before even getting to 80 myself. I chose to go with HL for multiple reasons … much to the disappointment of my FoL-spamming buddy.

    I can’t guarantee I’m doing everything right, hell, I KNOW I’m not doing everything right … but I’m really loving it and I’m willing to learn and make changes, so I guess that’s what matters.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

